21 2016

Congratulations to the 55 Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge Semi-finalists

January 21st 2016
Samsung Canada announced the 55 semi-finalists moving on to the next phase of Canada’s first-ever Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge. In partnership with well-known Canadian YouTubers AsapSCIENCE and educational organizations Let’s Talk Science and The Learning Partnership, Samsung’s Solve for Tomorrow Challenge encourages Canadian students in Grades 6 through 12 to apply their natural curiosity and to think big using science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) to solve everyday problems in their local communities. These semi-finalist schools will now go on to build out their proposed STEM solution, competing to be one of 11 prize winning finalists to move to the final stage for a chance to win one of two grand prizes of $50,000 in Samsung Solve for Tomorrow classroom technology grants and a visit from AsapSCIENCE. 

“We’ve been impressed by both the variety and creativity of schools’ STEM-based solutions to solve their local community issues,” said Mark Childs, Chief Brand Officer, Samsung Electronics Canada. “From an anti-bullying app seeing students home safely, to an anti-freezing plumbing solution for Canadian winters, these are tangible, real world innovations that are wholly inspired by STEM. We can’t wait to see how students bring these projects to life to benefit their communities across Canada.”

The semi-finalist will go on to implement their proposed STEM solution, capturing the process in a three-minute video with their new Samsung GALAXY Tab S, Samsung Galaxy NX 3000 and Adobe editing application from Google Play Store, all courtesy of Samsung Canada. From here, in accordance with the contest rules, 11 prize winning finalists will be selected and awarded $20,000 in classroom technology, and will go on to compete in the final phase in Spring 2016 for two grand prizes of $50,000 in Samsung Classroom technology*. These two grand prize winning schools will also win an exciting celebration event from Mitch Moffitt and Greg Brown of AsapSCIENCE and have their student projects featured in an AsapTHOUGHT video.

As one of Samsung’s Canada educational partner, we would like to join them in congratulating the 55 semi-finalists of the Solve for Tomorrow challenge. We wish them best of luck for the final step of the competition and are looking forward to hearing about their exciting projects.

Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge- Congratulations to our Semi Finalist Schools (by Alphabetical order)
School City Province/Territoty
Access Saint-Lambert Quebec
Ataguttaaluk High School Igloolik Nunavut
Bernice MacNaughton High School Moncton New Brunswick
Bernice MacNaughton High School Moncton New Brunswick
Caledonia Regional High School Hillsborough New Brunswick
Central Senior School Lindsay Ontario
Charlottetown Rural High School Charlottetown PEI
Corner Brook Intermediate School Corner Brook Newfoundland
Deh Gah Elementary & Secondary School Fort Providence Northwest Territories
East Richmond Education Center St. Peters Nova Scotia
École C.C. Loughlin School Corner Brook Newfoundland
École Dr. Bernard Brosseau Middle School Bonnyville Alberta
École St. Joseph's School Yellowknife Northwest Territories
École Van Walleghem School Winnipeg Manitoba
Elliot River Elementary School Cornwall PEI
Elm Street Elementary School Summerside PEI
Emerald Ridge Elementary School White City Saskatchewan
Englewood School Crapaud PEI
Fort Richmond Collegiate Winnipeg Manitoba
Glendon School Glendon Alberta
Gordon Graydon Memorial Secondary School Mississauga Ontario
H. A. Kostash School Smoky Lake Alberta
Henry G. Izatt Middle School Winnipeg Manitoba
Inquiry Hub Secondary School Coquitlam British Columbia
James M. Hill Memorial High School Miramichi New Brunswick
Kahnawake Survival School Kahnawake Quebec
Laurenhill Academy Saint-Laurent Quebec
MacDonald High School Saint-Anne-de-Bellevue Quebec
Madeline Symonds Middle School Hammonds Plains Nova Scotia
Mobile Central High School Mobile Newfoundland
Montague Intermediate Montague PEI
Moose Kerr School Aklavik Northwest Territories
Nakoda Oyade Education Centre Sintaluta Saskatchewan
North Peace Secondary School Fort St. John British Columbia
Osoyoos Secondary School Osoyoos British Columbia
Prince of Wales Secondary School Vancouver British Columbia
Queen Elizabeth High School Edmonton Alberta
River West Park School Winnipeg Manitoba
Rockingham Elementary Halifax Nova Scotia
Rocky Lake Junior High Bedford Nova Scotia
Sacred Heart School Estevan Saskatchewan
Sir James Dunn Academy St. Andrews New Brunswick
Sisler High School Winnipeg Manitoba
South Central Interior Distance Education School Merritt British Columbia
South Colchester Academy Brookfield Nova Scotia
St. Gregory School Regina Saskatchewan
St. Kateri Tekakwitha CES Markham Ontario
St. Kevin's High School Goulds Newfoundland
St. Marguerite d'Youville Secondary School Brampton Ontario
St. Mary's School Medicine Hat Alberta
St. Valentine School Mississauga Ontario
Twin Oaks Elementary School Laval Quebec
Viking Trail Academy Plum Point Newfoundland
Vincent Massey Public School Prince Albert Saskatchewan
Weledeh Catholic School Yellowknife Northwest Territories