24 2016

The Learning Partnership Celebrates Outstanding Leadership in Public Education

February 24th 2016
The Learning Partnership honoured 40 outstanding Canadian principals last night at an unforgettable gala event. Honourees from every province and territory were recognized for their professional achievements in the field of public education.

These educational leaders received their awards at the 12th annual Canada’s Outstanding Principals awards gala, held at the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto, Ontario. There were over 400 guests in attendance, including families and friends of the honourees, and senior leaders in education, government and business.

Jan Courtin, National Director of Student Programs at The Learning Partnership, entertained guests as emcee for the evening.

Ontario’s Minister of Education, the Hon. Liz Sandals, welcomed the outstanding principals, praising their hard work and dedication to improving their schools and communities. The Hon. Doug Currie was also in attendance to support and celebrate their accomplishments.
Members from the Native Canadian Cultural Centre’s ENAGB Youth Group presented an Aboriginal Pow-Wow inspired performance with drummers and dancers wearing traditional regalia.
The Learning Partnership honoured Mary Jean Gallagher, former Assistant Deputy Minister of Education and Chief Student Achievement Officer, Ontario, with the inaugural Joseph R. D’Cruz Outstanding Leader in Public Education Award. She was recognized for her dedication and passion to improving student achievement coupled with a deep understanding of education reform and implementation strategies.

The award has been named in honour of Professor Emeritus Joseph D’Cruz, who served for many years as the Academic Director of The Learning Partnership’s Executive Leadership Program at the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto.

Special thanks to our partners, CIBC and Deloitte for their continued support of the Canada’s Outstanding Principals program.