26 2016

Forty Exceptional Leaders Recognized as Canada’s Outstanding Principals

January 26th 2016
The Learning Partnership honours principals from every province and territory for exemplary leadership

January 26, 2016 – Toronto, ON – The Learning Partnership is pleased to announce 40 exceptional educators from coast to coast as Canada’s Outstanding Principals of 2016.

Now celebrating its 12th year, The Learning Partnership’s Canada’s Outstanding Principals program recognizes the unique and vital contribution of principals in publicly funded schools. This year, the 40 principals, nominated by their parents, colleagues, and community members, and chosen by a national selection committee, are being celebrated for demonstrating innovation, having an entrepreneurial spirit and for employing creativity in finding solutions and opportunities. They will be awarded for their accomplishments at the annual Canada’s Outstanding Principals gala on February 23rd, 2016, at the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel in Toronto.

The winners also benefit from an exclusive five-day executive leadership training program at one of Canada’s top business schools, the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management. The program will introduce them to leadership and management practices presented by business, government and education leaders as well as Rotman instructors. They also benefit from a “Changing World of Work” day where they learn about today’s workforce from business leaders.

The 2016 Canada’s Outstanding Principals will join the prestigious ranks of the National Academy of Canada’s Outstanding Principals, which now boasts almost 400 members. The National Academy offers principals ongoing networking, mentoring and professional development opportunities so they can constantly enhance their leadership skills.

“The strength of our world-renowned public education system is built on great principals, who are educators, managers and leaders in their schools and communities,” says Akela Peoples, President and CEO of The Learning Partnership. “These dedicated principals contribute tremendously to creating nurturing learning environments to enable all students to succeed. We are delighted to celebrate their achievement and contribution, and recognize them as important leaders in Canadian society.”

In the Canada’s Outstanding Principals program, principals are nominated by their colleagues, school staff and community members in every province and territory. Nominations are reviewed and final winners selected on a representation-by-population basis by a National Selection Committee made up of a distinguished group of Canadian education, community and private sector leaders. Candidates are chosen using the following criteria: leadership and student achievement; leadership and innovation; instructional leadership; professional learning teams; partnerships with families and communities; personal growth initiatives; and corresponding letters of support.

Canada’s Outstanding Principals is made possible through the generous support of CIBC and Deloitte Canada.

Check out the full list of Canada’s Outstanding Principals 2016, their biographies and photographs.

About The Learning Partnership

The Learning Partnership is a national charity dedicated to building stakeholder partnerships to support, promote and advance publicly funded education in Canada. We do this through five key deliverables - innovative student programs, executive leadership for educators, knowledge mobilization and policy, tribute celebrations of excellence and ongoing collaborations across Canada. Since 1993, more than 6.1 million students have participated in The Learning Partnership's programs.

Quick Facts
  • The Learning Partnership celebrates the 12th year of Canada’s Outstanding Principals.
  • Canada’s Outstanding Principals program is both a nationally recognized award and an Executive Leadership Training Program.
  • Through Canada’s Outstanding Principals program, The Learning Partnership recognizes principals who demonstrate innovation, have an entrepreneurial spirit and are creative in finding solutions and opportunities.
  • This year, 40 principals representing every province and territory have been chosen by a national selection committee on the basis of their exceptional contributions to their respective schools and communities.
  • The program’s national selection committee, composed of leaders from government, business and education takes into account 16 different criteria that fall into four categories, using quantitative and qualitative evidence of how the leadership of the principal has improved student achievement.
  • As part of the program, each winner attends an intensive week-long executive leadership program in Toronto at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management and is recognized at an Awards gala with over 500 guests from schools, school boards, business and government.
  • The 2016 Canada’s Outstanding Principals will join the ranks of the National Academy of Canada’s Outstanding Principals, which now boasts almost 400 members.

For media inquiries or to arrange interviews, please contact:
For Interviews:   For Program Information:
Norma Meneguzzi Spall   Fahad Pinto
The Results Group Public Relations   Media and Communications Specialist
On behalf of The Learning Partnership   The Learning Partnership
416-209-1216   416-440-5124, 1-800-790-9113 ext. 5124
norma@theresultsgrouppr.com   fpinto@thelearningpartnership.ca

Complete List of Winners – By Province
Kevin DeForge St. Dominic Fine Arts School Calgary
Deana Helton Bishop McNally High School Calgary
Rose McQuay École Notre Dame High School Red Deer
Christine Meaden Education Centre Calgary
David de Wit Rick Hansen Secondary School Abbotsford
Bruce McKay Chute Lake Elementary School Kelowna
Sheena Braun Ryerson Elementary School Winnipeg
Rex Ferguson-Baird Brooklands School Winnipeg
Patrick Laskey Bayside Middle School Saint John
Christine Roy St. John the Baptist
King Edward School
Saint John
Cindy Barker Stephenville Elementary School Stephenville
Denise Francis St. James Elementary School Port aux Basques
Kimberly Leonard Mary Queen of Peace School St. John's
Lizotte Courteney Range Lake North School Yellowknife
Paula Danyluk-MacDonald Caldwell Road Elementary School Dartmouth
Isabelle Obeid Portland Estates Elementary School Dartmouth
Md. Abdus Salam Inuujaq School Arctic Bay
Dawn Addison Morning Star Middle School Mississauga
Rocchina Antunes St. Jean de Brebeuf Catholic High School Woodbridge
Jan Bazaluk St. Ann School Thunder Bay
Vito Colella Blessed Teresa of Calcutta Catholic Elementary School Hamilton
Sarah Frost Cliffwood Public School Toronto
Alison Gaymes San Vicente Lanor Junior Middle School Toronto
Patrick Hamilton Centre Dufferin District High School Shelburne
Marc Hurtubise École élémentaire publique Rose des Vents Cornwall
Arlene Knights-Svarich Elizabeth Simcoe Junior Public School Toronto
Duncan LeBlanc Maplewood High School Toronto
Christine Leung Mother Teresa Catholic School Bradford
Bríd Mc Donald St. Patrick's High School Ottawa
Michelle Newlands King's Road Public School Burlington
Marie-France Paquette École élémentaire catholique Marius-Barbeau Ottawa
Manuela Sequeira St. Clare Catholic Elementary School Toronto
Cathy Standring Ray Lawson Public School Brampton
France Thibault Glebe Collegiate Institute Ottawa
David Yaciuk Agnes Taylor Public School Brampton
Kevin Whitrow Colonel Gray Senior High School Charlottetown
Marylene Perron English Montreal School Board Saint-Laurent
Dawn Paylor Lakeview Elementary School Meadow Lake
Tim Taylor Dr. Isman Elementary School Wolseley
Ryan Sikkes Vanier Catholic Secondary School Whitehorse