27 2015

Forty Leaders Named Canada’s Outstanding Principals™

January 27th 2015
The Learning Partnership honours principals from every province and territory for exemplary leadership
January 27, 2015 – Toronto, ON – Great principals are the foundation of great public education – the cornerstone of Canada’s future. The Learning Partnership is pleased to salute 40 individuals as Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ of 2015 who demonstrate innovation, have an entrepreneurial spirit and are creative in finding solutions and opportunities.
These exemplary leaders come from every province and territory in the country and will receive their awards at the 11th annual Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ gala on February 24, 2015, in Toronto.
The winners will also benefit from an exclusive five day executive leadership training program at one of Canada’s top business schools, the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management. The program will introduce them to leadership and management practices presented by business leaders and Rotman instructors.
The 2015 Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ will join the ranks of the National Academy of Canada’s Outstanding Principals™, which now boasts over 350 members. The National Academy offers principals ongoing networking, mentoring and professional development opportunities so they can constantly enhance their leadership skills.
Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ are nominated by their peers, school staff and/or community members. Winners are selected on a representation-by-population basis. The first round of adjudication is completed by the local Principal’s Association. Finalists are then forwarded to a National Selection Committee made up of distinguished Canadian education, community and private sector leaders. Candidates are chosen using comprehensive criteria including: evidence of innovative leadership; evidence of partnerships with staff, parents and community; examples illustrating successful change resulting in improved student achievement; and corresponding letters of support.
“A great principal is the driving force behind a great school,” says Akela Peoples, President and CEO of The Learning Partnership. “We recognize that being a principal is an extremely demanding job. Principals shoulder the responsibility of leading and managing everything that happens in their school. From effective teaching and learning to operational oversight of facilities and establishing community partnerships, their ultimate goal is to enhance student achievement and prepare them for the future. Canada’s Outstanding Principals honours leaders in this challenging profession and shines a spotlight on the importance of strong leadership in public education.”
Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ is made possible through the generous support of CIBC and Deloitte.
See complete list of winners.
See winner bios and photos.

Winners Summary:
There are 40 winners overall, representing every Canadian province and territory:

Alberta 4 Northwest Territories 1 PEI 1
British Columbia 2 Nova Scotia 2 Quebec 1
Manitoba 2 Nunavut 1 Saskatchewan 2
New Brunswick 2 Ontario 18 Yukon 1
Newfoundland 3        
Quick Facts:
  • The Learning Partnership celebrates the 11th year of Canada’s Outstanding Principals.
  • Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ program is both a nationally recognized award and an Executive Leadership Training Program.
  • Through Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ program, The Learning Partnership recognizes Principals who demonstrate innovation, have an entrepreneurial spirit and are creative in finding solutions and opportunities.
  • This year, 40 principals representing every province and territory have been chosen by a national selection committee on the basis of their exceptional contributions to their respective schools and communities.
  • The program’s national selection committee, composed of leaders from government, business and education takes into account 16 different criteria that fall into four categories, using quantitative and qualitative evidence, of how the leadership of the principal has improved student achievement.
  • As part of the program, each winner attends an intensive week-long executive leadership program in Toronto at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management and is recognized at an Awards gala with over 500 guests from schools, school boards, business and government.
  • The 2015 Canada’s Outstanding Principals™ will join the ranks of the National Academy of Canada’s Outstanding Principals™, which now boasts over 350 members.
  • There are more than 13,000 public school principals in Canada.

Media Contacts:
For Interviews:
Norma Meneguzzi Spall
The Results Group
For Program Information:
Bernadette Celis
Media and Communications Manager
The Learning Partnership
(416) 440-5124

– 30 –

About The Learning Partnership
The Learning Partnership is a national charity dedicated to building stakeholder partnerships to support, promote and advance publicly funded education in Canada. We do this through five key deliverables - innovative student programs, executive leadership for educators, knowledge mobilization and policy, tribute celebrations of excellence and ongoing collaborations across Canada. Since 1993, more than 5.7 million students have participated in The Learning Partnership's programs. For more information on The Learning Partnership, visit www.thelearningpartnership.ca.

Complete List of Winners – By Province

Marcie Gomes St. Henry School Calgary
Cathy Gukert École Mountview School Red Deer
Carol Hall Nose Creek School Calgary
Francis Poole
Strathcona Christian Academy
Elementary School
Sherwood Park
Margaret Paxton École Squamish Elementary School Squamish
Raquel Steen École KLO Middle School Kelowna
Peggy Hobson Henry G. Izatt Middle School Winnipeg
Ken Hoglund École Stonewall Centennial School Stonewall
NEW BRUNSWICK                                                                              
Louise Johnson Loch Lomond Elementary School Saint John
Bonnie Worrall Geary Elementary Community School Geary
Elizabeth Churchill Elizabeth Park Elementary Paradise
Della Healey Mount Pearl Intermediate Mount Pearl
Wilson Warren All Saints All Grade School Grey River
Lea Lamoureux Kaw Tay Whee School Dettah
Adrienne Blumenthal Porters Lake Elementary School Porters Lake
Roberta Jones Holland Road Elementary School Fletchers Lake
Sonja Lonsdale Joamie School Iqaluit
Lara Chebaro James Robinson Public School Markham
Jason Dupuis École secondaire catholique Garneau Ottawa
Cathy Empey Holy Cross Catholic School Kemptville
Tamara Grealis Georges Vanier Secondary School Toronto
Kevin Kuiack Our Lady of Grace Catholic School Angus
Murray Kuntz St. Mary's High School Owen Sound
Peter LeBlanc Erin Public School Erin
Kim Maybury Walter Scott Public School Richmond Hill
Grant McKinnell Major Ballachey Public School Brantford
Greg McLeod John A. Leslie Public School Toronto
Emma Nichols Queen Alexandra Middle School Toronto
Flora Nordoff St. Matthew Catholic Elementary School Binbrook
Randy Palermo Thistletown Collegiate Institute Toronto
Sally Potts SCDSB Education Centre Midhurst
Jim Rogers St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic School Ottawa
Alka Sahai Captain R. Wilson Public School Oakville
Christopher Vuorensyrja St. Mary Catholic School Massey
Chris Woodcroft Resurrection Catholic Secondary School Kitchener
Parker Grimmer Queen Charlotte Intermediate School Charlottetown
Claude Dansereau LaurenHill Academy Ville St. Laurent
Nevin Halyk Wadena Elementary School Wadena
James Wahl St. Francis Community School Regina
Jean MacLean Watson Lake Secondary School Watson Lake